Navigation

Pietermaritzburg Campus
Postal Address:
School of Education and Development
P/Bag X01
Scottsville
3209

Edgewood Campus
Tel: +27 (0)33 260 3499
Email: buhlalupr@ukzn.ac.za
Education Leadership, Management and Policy 

In South Africa, education leadership, management and policy (ELMP) is an emerging academic research field. Historically in this country it has been driven by practice. The field draws interest from academics, practitioners from schools such as teachers, heads of departments (HODs), deputy principals and principals. Officials from the Department of Education are also interested stakeholders. ELMP is a contested terrain and is growing in popularity in SA. Students are drawn to it because of its promotion prospects in the education context.

Specialisations in Education Leadership, Management and Policy (ELMP) are available in studies towards the following qualifications:

  • Advanced Certificate in Education
  • Bachelor of Education Honours 
  • Master of Education (by coursework and half dissertation) 
  • Master of Education (by full dissertation) 
  • Supervision towards the Doctor of Philosophy degree

Short courses on offer: 

  • Principals Management Development Programme

Click to view a PDF with further ELMP course details  

 

ELMP staff details

Edgewood Campus

Dr Inba Naicker (Edgewood campus coordinator)
Tel (031) 260 3461
e-mail: Naickeri1@ukzn.ac.za

Dr Jenni Karlsson
Tel (031) 260 1398
e-mail: Karlsson@ukzn.ac.za

Dr TT Bhengu
Tel (031) 260 3534
e-mail: Bhengutt@ukzn.ac.za

Mr Sbu Bayeni
Tel (031) 260 7026
e-mail: Bayenis@ukzn.ac.za

Mr Siphiwe Mthiyane
Tel (031) 260 1870
e-mail: Mthiyanes@ukzn.ac.za

Prof Vitallis Chikoko
Tel (031) 260 2639
e-mail: Chikokov@ukzn.ac.za 

Ms Z Adam (Administrator)
Tel: (031) 260 1631
e-mail: adamz@ukzn.ac.za 

 
           

Pietermaritzburg Campus

Dr Callie Grant (ELMP coordinator)
Tel (033) 260 6185
e-mail: Grantc@ukzn.ac.za

Dr Irene Muzvidziwa
Tel (033) 260 5752
e-mail: Muzvidziwai@ukzn.ac.za

Mr Neil Avery
Tel (033) 260 5291
e-mail: Averyn@ukzn.ac.za

Mr Pete Jugmohan
Tel (033) 260 6046
e-mail: Jugmohanp@ukzn.ac.za

Mrs Mpolokeng Lesetla (Administrator)
Tel: (033) 260 5368
e-mail: Lesetlam@ukzn.ac.za


Contact Webmaster | View the Promotion of Access to Information Act | View our Privacy Policy
© University of KwaZulu-Natal: All Rights Reserved